Some Helpful Info for Student Travelers to Attend Chulalongkorn University

12/21/2012 19:45

This is some information to help with the travel plans to Thailand for future students.

After you get accepted to the school of your choice in Thailand, the university will normally assign you a Thai buddy. This buddy is assigned with the task of assisting you in your initial period of transitioning. They should help orient you with the university and help you acquire the uniforms and get your phone online.

When picking your residence in Thailand, I would recommend Nonsi Residence. But this is just a preference. My opinion is based on the ability to live without sharing a bedroom and the social areas are quite convenient for meeting and relaxing afterhours. In comparison, the Evergreen residence appears to be much newer and nicer but you must share rooms with other students and there really are no common areas for socializing. If you decide to live outside the provided residences, you could find a great place with a great location but this is difficult prior to arriving. Also the relationships I have formed with the other students in my housing are invaluable as my international networking has increased significantly.

When I first arrived, I got a SIM card to enable my international phone to work in Thailand.  This cost me 100 Baht and I had to pick it up at MBK (A great cheap shopping center very close to Chulalongkorn) because they configured my phone for Thailand. If you have a phone that works overseas (GSM format) then you can buy your SIM card at any 7-11 Minimart. Data is very cheap here so bring your smartphone if it is GSM enabled. Phone calls to the USA are best made on Skype but are still affordable on your phone using prepaid minutes.

At school, we wear a uniform which is uncommon for me but it becomes very nice because you don’t have to pick out an outfit before leaving the house. I purchased my uniform at MBK shopping center near Chulalongkorn University. The uniform may seem awkward at first but it is perfectly normal after one week of attending school. If you can bring some black dress shoes with you because nice shoes here are not very cheap.

Studies are pretty laid back for exchange students because the faculty understands the nature of travelling abroad and being curious by exploring the area and trying new things. The cost of textbooks here are very cheap. Many times the author is your professor. The books usually cost around 1000 baht (33.33 USD). The classes run one day a week and are 3 hours long. Usually the professor gives a long break at about the halfway point. Every class usually has a group project where the students are half exchange students half Thai students. This promotes cultural integration in the classroom. There are several school holidays throughout the semester for Buddhism and for the Royal Thai Family. For instance we have off from school for the king’s birthday.

Don’t worry about transportation. Once in Thailand the best way to get around is by taxi, motorbike taxi, metro and plane. Travelling within Bangkok is cheapest generally by normal taxi. Be sure the  taxi driver knows where you are going before you enter. Also make sure they use the taxi meter to calculate the cost. These taxis should be very cheap, about 100 baht (3.33 USD) anywhere you want to go in Bangkok. Many taxi drivers here ask for a set amount, this is not a good thing to allow, just leave and find another taxi. Travelling outside of Bangkok is good by bus or plane. I would take a plane if travelling to Chiang Mai or Southern Thailand as the bus and train can take a very long time and can be uncomfortable. If travelling to Pattaya, or Khao Yai or Kanchanaburi National Parks then a bus would be appropriate.

There are many opportunities to travel, especially after you make some friends also studying abroad. Many students from Europe attend school here as well as from Singapore and Japan. Most students I have met travel intensively throughout the semester. You may have to juggle traveling with your classes a few times to accommodate your priorities. Traveling is made quite easy with AirAsia. You should become familiar with their website before leaving your home school. There are many promotions and they usually run a couple of months before the travel period. Airfare is generally like the Hawaiian Airlines Island Hopper rates except you travel further at the same price. You can generally travel anywhere in Southeast Asia for about 100 USD roundtrip. I would recommend Halong Bay in Vietnam or Komodo National Park for snorkeling and diving in Indonesia (as well as seeing Komodo Dragons).

Food is much cheaper than the food in Hawaii. I like to eat at reputable places because some of the really cheap street food here in Thailand can get you really sick. Budgets for food can range from 3000 baht/month to 15000 baht/month depending on your budget and preferences. I generally spend more on food because I have gotten sick twice eating unreliable food from street vendors.

By participating in this study in Thailand, I have gained a global perspective and feel ready to meet the challenges of the future, as a person and as a leader. This is something that can be a real boost for my resume, and for my personal learning experience. This has enabled many global career opportunities. I feel I have really built a bridge between myself and Southeast Asia, and I now have friends all over the world. This has been an opportunity to be an individual, as well as a representative of my culture, and to encourage positive understanding of global diversity. After studying abroad, I am confident that my travels will have a profound influence on my career or personal goals.