Posting After Final Exams

12/07/2012 14:59

I have finished all of my exams. As I stated earlier about the midterms, the exams are much more based on essay format as opposed to multiple choice. One of my classes did not have any other grades except the final exam and the final was all essay questions. The exams are 3 hours long, similar to the normal class periods at Chulalongkorn. I believe I did well on the exams. I have an advantage, this is that I am a native English speaker and writer which improves my ability to write essays in an English based class. The final grades are scheduled to be posted on December 19th.

My trip to Bangkok, Thailand was full of exciting new adventures. When I decided to study abroad I wanted to expand my knowledge of the world by actually being there, seeing it, touching it, and experiencing it. This is how a person can understand the world in a direct and comprehensive way. Studying and living in a different culture has helped me see the world from a completely different perspective. It was an amazing experience that will certainly change my life. Traveling outside the country has shown me how America affects and fits into all of humanity. From the vantage point of someone else’s culture I have truly seen my own cultural identity. My newly acquired skills will strengthen my resume in an increasingly ethnically and culturally diverse workforce. During my stay in Thailand there were many highlights as I visited Pattaya, Koh Larn, Koh Pha Ngan, Koh Samui, Krabi, Phuket, Kanchanaburi, Khao Yai National Park, and Phimai. I also travelled outside of Thailand to Singapore and Indonesia. There were many exchange students travelling extensively and it was easy to find travel companions. I have had the opportunity to meet people from different backgrounds and cultures. This study abroad has given me the opportunity to meet others with which I expected to have no common ground, and then I discovered that, despite being from different parts of the globe, we had much in common and much to learn from one another. These relationships, insights, and outlooks were a critical part of my study abroad experience.