Last Few Weeks After Finals

12/20/2012 17:44

My parents came to Thailand for vacation for 3 weeks after my final exams.

We visited Ayutthaya. Ayutthaya was the second capital of Thailand and had a large quantity of temples and Buddha Statues. Ayutthaya became the second Siamese capital after Sukhothai. Ayutthaya is just an hour and half drive from the center of Bangkok. It remains characterized by the temple towers and gigantic monasteries which gave me an idea of this areas past splendors. To travel to Ayutthaya I would recommend a small shuttle bus that departs from Victory Monument and cost about 90 baht or 3 US dollars.

We also visited Chiang Mai. Chiang Mai was very cultural and relaxing as it was located in the far north of Thailand. I discerned that Chiang Mai is the largest and most culturally significant city in Northern Thailand. Chiang Mai is also a city within the large province of Chiang Mai. In recent years, Chiang Mai has become an increasingly modern city and has been attracting over 5 million visitors each year. During this trip I visited for a second time a tiger temple and an elephant preserve. I also visited an amazing temple called Wat Phrathat Doi Suthep. Travel to Chiang Mai was relatively cheap at 1800 baht or 60 US Dollars.